Angebote zu "Commanding" (30 Treffer)

Commanding Officer(standing) US Army Infantry S...
9,99 € *
zzgl. 5,95 € Versand

CMK / F48333 / 1:48

Anbieter: Modellbau-Universe
Stand: 25.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Two Kneeling Soldiers and Commanding Officer, U...
10,99 € *
zzgl. 5,95 € Versand

CMK / F72343 / 1:72

Anbieter: Modellbau-Universe
Stand: 23.05.2019
Zum Angebot
Commanding Officer(standing)US Army Infa Squad ...
11,99 € *
zzgl. 5,95 € Versand

CMK / F35324 / 1:35

Anbieter: Modellbau-Universe
Stand: 25.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Spider #15, December 1934: The Spider, Hörbuch,...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

During the difficult decade encompassed by the years 1933-43, a commanding figure blazed his way through a legion of Depression-era supercriminals, Nazi spies and saboteurs. He was wealthy criminologist Richard Wentworth. He was also secretly The Spider! Never before or since has there been a hero like him. Driven, hunted, and violently committed to exterminating criminals of all calibers. A self-appointed savior of humanity, driven manic-depressive, and possibly undiagnosed paranoid schizophrenic, The Spider was known as the Master of Men. For this latest release in our Will Murray Pulp Classics series of audiobooks, we asked our customers to pick their favorite Spider novel for recording. Many stories were nominated, but none outpolled any other. We did discover that most of you wanted to hear brought to life one of Norvell Page´s epic tales pitting the Master of Men against a villain in the vein of Fu Manchu, Dr. Yen Sin or Marvel Comics´ the Mandarin. So we selected The Red Death Rain, the first of these white-hot face offs, wherein a malevolent mastermind has poisoned all of the liquor, cigarettes and coffee available to Manhattan. His name: The Red Mandarin. It´s well known that Marvel Comics´ writer Stan Lee was a faithful follower of The Spider magazine during his Depression youth. Could Lee have been thinking of this story when he created the Iron Man villain known as the Mandarin? You decide. First printed in the December, 1934 issue of ´´The Spider, The Red Death Rain” is a thrill ride from start to finish, and boasts the most electrifying final scene in any of Page´s thrilling works. Many consider it the most unforgettable novel of the entire series. Once more, Nick Santa Maria brings the action to vibrant life, narrating with a fever-pitch intensity worthy of the bloody pulps. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Nick Santa Maria. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/023488/bk_acx0_023488_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
The River Between Us , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 233min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Richard Peck is a master of stories about people in transition, but perhaps never before has he told a tale of such dramatic change as this one, set during the first year of the Civil War. The whole country is changing in 1861, even the folks from a muddy little Illinois settlement on the banks of the Mississippi. Here, 15-year-old Tilly Pruitt frets over the fact that her brother is dreaming of being a soldier and that her sister is prone to supernatural visions. A boy named Curry could possibly become a distraction. Then a steamboat whistle splits the air. The Rob Roy from New Orleans docks at the landing, and off the boat step two remarkable figures: a vibrant, commanding young lady in a rustling hoop skirt and a darker, silent woman in a plain cloak, with a bandanna wrapped around her head. Who are these two fascinating strangers? And is the darker woman a slave, standing now on the free soil of Illinois? When Tilly´s mother invites the women to board at her house, the whole world shifts for the Pruitts and for their visitors as well. In this tale of mystery, adventure, and the civilian Civil War experience, Richard Peck has spun a breathtaking portrait of the lifelong impact that one person can have on another. This is a novel of countless riches. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Lina Patel, Daniel Passer. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/lili/000300/bk_lili_000300_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Spider #11 August 1934, Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 34...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

During the difficult decade encompassed by the years 1933-43, a commanding figure blazed his way through a legion of Depression-era supercriminals, Nazi spies and saboteurs. He was wealthy criminologist Richard Wentworth. He was also secretly the Spider! Never before or since has there been a hero like the Spider. Driven, hunted, and violently committed to exterminating criminals of all calibers. A self-appointed savior of humanity, driven manic-depressive, and possibly undiagnosed paranoid schizophrenic, the Spider was known as the Master of Men. ´´There´s a madness that gets in me when the Spider walks....”; Wentworth once admitted. The most compelling of the classic pulp heroes, Richard Wentworth had a fiancé, a coterie of equally committed aides, and a tense relationship with New York Police Commissioner Stanley Kirkpatrick, Wentworth´s best friend, but also a dedicated lawman sworn to send the Spider to the electric chair-no matter who he turns out to be. These riveting stories ran the gamut of incendiary thrillers to ultra-violent showdowns between an obsessed superhero and his depraved arch-foes. Manhattan is the backdrop for Wentworth´s apocalyptic adventures. A new skyline has arisen over the penthouses, nightclubs, breadlines, and ghettos of the Big Apple. With the repeal of Prohibition, wealthy gangsters are in search for new rackets. And standing ready to keep them in check, the dreaded Spider. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Nick Santa Maria, Robin Riker. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/018210/bk_acx0_018210_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
Keri , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 71min, (USK 18)
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Keri Mills stared at her computer screen. Online dating wasn´t something she had ever even considered until a friend at work slipped her a small scrap of paper with the web address written on it. It was a dating site, sure. As much as Keri wanted to click it off her screen, she couldn´t deny the pounding inside her chest. Who was this man she was chatting with, and why did she do these things for a total stranger? Keri had lost all control from the very first night she had signed up for the site. Her secret desires for her boss at the office and the commanding way this online figure had taken control over her passions, all had Keri swirling with disbelief and desire. She was spinning out of control with no idea where she would end up. But now she knew for sure, wherever it was, there was no way to deny her need to submit. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Elizabeth Dellrose. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/145329/bk_acx0_145329_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
The Lobotomists , Hörbuch, Digital, 1, 27min
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

This fascinating BBC Radio 4 documentary tells the story of three key figures in the strange history of lobotomy, and for the first time explores the popularity of the operation in the UK. The story starts in 1935 with a Portuguese doctor called Egas Moniz, who pioneered a radical surgical procedure on the brain which he asserted would relieve the symptoms of mental disorder. His results were seized on the following year by Walter Freeman in the US, an enthusiastic neurosurgeon who eventually went on to perform around 3,000 lobotomies over the course of his career. The operation was also taken up by the most celebrated British neurosurgeon of the time, Sir Wylie McKissock, who also went on to perform thousands of operations on UK patients in the 1940s. Perhaps 40,000 patients in the US were lobotomised during the heyday of the operation - and an estimated 17,000 more in the UK. By the late 1950s the lobotomy craze was over, and only a very few continued to be performed in special cases. In the late 1960s, Freeman was banned from operating. The stories of Moniz, Freeman and McKissock - all commanding and dynamic figures - raise profound questions about our ideas both of mental health and science. Is a patient ´cured´ just because he becomes subdued? And how come the lobotomy became so popular despite the lack of evidence of its efficacy - and the rapid dissemination of evidence of its potential for harm? To what extent is science independent of powerful personalities, economic considerations and media pressure? 1. Language: English. Narrator: Hugh Levinson. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/bbcw/005762/bk_bbcw_005762_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot
A Wicked Wager: Avenging Lords, Book 2 , Hörbuc...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Two lonely people discover that true love doesn’t have to be perfect.The gentleman makes a wager. Devlin Drake is out for revenge. Since his brother’s mysterious death, the cruel and devious Miss Bromfield has taken to spouting vicious lies, spreading vile gossip - and he vows to make her pay. How better to punish the lady than to make her his wife? A lifetime of misery is what she deserves. Knowing the lady would never accept him, Devlin devises a plan to get her to the altar - he’ll win her hand in a bet. In choosing to marry the spiteful lady, Devlin must accept he will never know true love. But his fortunes turn when he’s offered another tempting option. A surprise announcement. Miss Juliet Duval, the illegitimate daughter of Baron Bromfield, was taken into the lord’s house after the death of her mother. The baron finds her an embarrassment, and her half-sister’s jealous tirades see Juliet banished to the role of servant. That is until her father makes a foolish wager and needs a daughter to satisfy his debt. An unsuitable match.Thrown together in an odd twist of fate, Devlin and Juliet are mismatched in every regard. He is a hulking figure of a man, powerful, commanding. She is dainty and petite, used to obeying her father, and despising of masterful men. Yet both quickly become what the other needs and together must battle against those determined to tear them apart. Features:Regency historical romance novelA novel of approx 70,000 wordsContains some descriptive sex scenes 1. Language: English. Narrator: Liisa Ivary. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/acx0/134021/bk_acx0_134021_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 29.03.2019
Zum Angebot